Airplanes and Gazpacho

August 25, 2011 § 1 Comment

I bet you 500 dollars that I can transition from the topic “airplanes” to “gazpacho” by the end of this blog post.

I love airplanes! I love airports! Everything about airports and airplanes is so intimately lovable that I cannot fathom why anyone dislikes them. I love the food served on planes and how everything is in its own separate compartment, how the dried out bread roll is individually wrapped, how the noodles have their own cute container that fits perfectly into a plastic tray holder, how the cups have their own little spot, and how the dessert has the tiniest box ever! Planes are also nice because everything has a neat little multi-functioning capacity; the bathrooms are also Mile High Clubs, and the seats are also flotation devices. I like how airports have super high powered hand blowers that make the skin of your hands wiggle like a basset hound’s jowls.

Updating blog from a plane, so you get wonderful Paint drawings.

Surprise surprise, I’m on an airplane!! I didn’t update last week because I was on vacation and the place that I stayed at had a bed that was unfortunately composed of a high-tech government-guarded glue and so I physically could not raise my fingers to type out a blog post. But now that I’m on an airplane back home, I feel so guilty that I’m updating right this second! On an airplane!

Tomato Juice: 300 NP (brownie points if you get the inside joke there.)

I’m sitting on this airplane drinking tomato juice from a can, which I have never had before but is really quite nice. It’s like drinking watered down ketchup or a cold tomato soup. Weirdly addictive substance, tomato juice is. I also had a bloody Mary for the first time, or, more accurately, I had ¼ of a bloody Mary before I was too drunk to speak at normal volumes. Speaking of cold tomato soup, here’s a gazpacho recipe. (Did you like that transition? Did you?)

Gazpacho
serves 4 | prep time: 20 minutes | total time: 3 hours
The great thing about this recipe is that it requires absolutely no work on your part. In the heat of summer when heirloom tomatoes taste like candy, all you have to do is NOT mess with the ingredients and NOT cook to get a wonderfully flavorful dish.

Ingredients
– 2 red bell peppers
– 5 heirloom tomatoes
– 1 cucumber
– 2 stalks celery
– 1/4 red onion
– 4 sprigs parsley
– 1 tablespoon olive oil
– salt

1. Cut up all the ingredients into very fine pieces and mix in a large bowl. Add the olive oil and salt to taste.
2. Let the flavors marry for about 2 hours, but if you can’t wait, I’m not one to lecture you on that.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Airplanes and Gazpacho

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Airplanes and Gazpacho at Thursdays with Wanda.

meta

