Fancy Pants Dessert

May 19, 2011 § 5 Comments

If I could pick one word to truly describe me, that word would be classy. I believe the way that you can truly distinguish a classy person from a crowd is to put that person in the vicinity of a dusty car. Dusty windshields should always be decorated with a large penis, preferably with a smiling expression, so if your person in question walks away, and no penis in sight, STAMP OF UNCLASSINESS! Also, points for giggling at the words duty, dictionary, and ridiculous.

So of course, it came as a complete and utter surprise to me when my friend asked me if I would like to attend a gala. As in a black tie affair with fancy people and open bar. Who in their right mind invites me?! But I had never been to such an event, so I dutifully sprinted around my house, borrowed a dress from a friend, pondered brushing my hair, and arrived at this beautifully decked out palace of shiny objects and candy and entertainment and shmoozing and plushness and…the food!!

They had little teeny tiny burgers. On sticks! Burgers the size of a quarter! And unlimited amounts of jellybeans. And truffles and cheese platters and tiny tiny dim sum platters, and oh my goodness they had these chocolate mousse cups with a perfect little strawberry decorating the top.

And as I started to gravitate towards those chocolate mousse cups with a zombie-like fervor, a little light went off in my brain saying, “Wanda…those are probably not vegan,” and a sensation of doom and anger settled over my growling stomach. So as I watched all these dressed up rich people devour the chocolate mousse cups and I vowed to myself that I would make an army of vegan desserts even more delicious that those stupid chocolate mousse cups that I didn’t want anyways and I would eat them all by myself.

Raspberry Chocolate Mousse
makes 12 | cook time: 1 hour | set time: 2 hours
Impress your vegan and non-vegan friends alike with this delicious layered extravaganza of tart raspberry, sinfully creamy chocolate mousse, and a mocha brownie bottom.

For the brownie layer

– 1 cup flour
– 1 cup evaporated cane sugar
– 1/3 cup cocoa powder
– 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– 1/2 cup cold coffee (try it with hot, it taste like a rubber duck)
– 1/2 cup vegetable oil (or other flavorless oil)
– 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 35o degrees F.
2. Mix all flour, cane sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt together in a large bowl.
3. In a smaller bowl, mix the water, vegetable oil, and vanilla extract together, then mix with the dry ingredients and stir until combined.
4. Grease and flour 12 muffin tins, then pour the brownie mix in. Bake for 13-17 minutes, or until the tops are no longer shiny.
5. To unmold, run a knife around the edges, flip the muffin pan over, and smack the bottom.

For the chocolate mousse layer

– 1 cup cashews, soaked for at least 3 hours
– 2 teaspoons agar agar, soaked in hot water
– 1 cup soy milk
– 1/2 cup cocoa powder
– 1/3 cup evaporated cane sugar
– 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
– scant 1/2 teaspoon salt

1. Blend all together for a long time in a very powerful blender.
2. Pour it into a small pot and cook for 5 minutes over medium heat, whisking constantly to keep from burning. Take off the heat and set aside.

For the raspberry mousse layer

– 1 can (14 oz.) coconut milk
– 1 bag frozen raspberries
– 1/2 cup evaporated cane sugar
– 2 teaspoons agar agar, soaked in hot water

1. Blend all together  in a very powerful blender.
2. Pour it into a small pot and cook for 5 minutes (or until slightly thickened) over medium heat, whisking constantly to keep from burning. Take off the heat and set aside.

To assemble

1. Basically, you need to make a mold around the brownie bottoms so you can pour in the liquid chocolate mousse and liquid raspberry mousse layers on top. You can cut out parchment paper strips, wrap them around the bottom, and then tape the edge. I used CAUTION tape because I ran out of parchment paper; anything nonstick and papery will do!
2. After wrapping the brownie bottoms, pour the liquid chocolate mousse layer in and let set for 1 hour.
3. Repeat with the raspberry mousse layer and let set for another hour.
4. Take off the tape and the paper, top off with a fresh raspberry and a swipe of chocolate and voila! fancy pants dessert!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Fancy Pants Dessert

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fancy Pants Dessert at Thursdays with Wanda.

meta

