Odd Thoughts & Kumquats

March 14, 2011 § 4 Comments

When I was wee laddess (is that the female form of lad?), my mom raised me with odd thoughts that she had hoarded throughout the years, silly beliefs that I did not recognize were absolutely absurd until I reached an embarrassingly old age.

Odd Thoughts
1. If I ran around outside without shoes on and my toes got really cold, they would turn into carrots. (disputed at age 10)

2. I wanted to play basketball when I was younger, but my mom said that all the girls on the basketball team were very tall, and since I was already much too tall for my age, I was not allowed to play basketball because it would make me EVEN TALLER. (realized it was wrong at age 12)


3. And disputed at the ripe old age of 21, that kumquats make your teeth fall out. Until I made this dish, I had never tasted the puckeringly sour loveliness of a kumquat because my mom constantly told me  that when she was younger she absolutely looooovvvveeed to suck on kumquats, and consequently lost all her teeth – the moral of the story being that I shouldn’t eat kumquats. I think perhaps I should have realized this was untrue a little sooner than legal drinking age, because my mom clearly has all her teeth.

Roasted Potatoes with Kumquats and Wilted Spinach
serves 4 | prep time: 5 minutes | cook time: 25 minutes
There’s sourness and savoriness and sweetness and spiciness up the kazoo with this inventive dish! Every bite is a new experience because there are so many taste sensations going on at once. Also, don’t peel your kumquats because the sweetness of a kumquat actually comes from the rind.

Ingredients
– 4 potatoes (I used Russet…because they seem to just hang out everywhere), cubed into 3/4  inch boxes
– 1 large red onion, chopped
–  4 cloves garlic, minced
– 2 tablespoons Sriracha aka Cock Sauce (or less, to taste if you’re not into being burned alive)
– 12 kumquats, sliced
– several handfuls of baby spinach
– olive oil
– salt & pepper to taste

1. In a large pan over medium heat, swirl in a generous amount of olive oil, then cook the chopped onion in the hot fat for about 5 minutes, or until translucent. Add the garlic, potatoes, and Sriracha and cook for 15 more minutes, or until crispy on the outside yet pillowy soft on the inside. Don’t forget to stir now and again.

2. At the 15 minute mark, stir in the kumquats and baby spinach. Turn the heat up to high and wilt the spinach halfway, about 1-2 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste.

*Only my most loyal readers can imagine the pleasure I felt at coming up with a rhyming title post.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Odd Thoughts & Kumquats

  • Gigi Lin says:

    WANDA! I’m subscribed!

    Also… isn’t this blog a “Thursdays with Wanda?” It’s Monday, but I’m not complaining.

  • Anna says:

    Both your loyal readers and your dearest friends would understand the wonderful feeling of coming up with a rhyming blog title. 🙂 Also, I think the female form of lad is perhaps lass?

    Anyhoo, this sounds really tasty! I wish I had some kumquats handy to try this out. 🙂

  • Emm says:

    Leave it to you to find something that rhymes with orange… kind of…

  • Csilla says:

    I love the rhyming and the thoughts. you are silly!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Odd Thoughts & Kumquats at Thursdays with Wanda.

meta

