Cornmeal Cherry Scones

February 23, 2011 § 3 Comments

When I say scone, what do you think of? I think of British tea parties with imaginary British friends:

Note the pinkie. I think it really adds to the classy effect.

I also think of dry, tasteless pieces of cardboard that one must slather tons and tons of tasty spread onto before becoming palatable. In fact, before these scones, I never met a scone that I liked, that wasn’t over-mixed, that didn’t taste like the forbidden child of sawdust and rubber. But one magical morning (before I became vegan), I walked past Cheese Board Collective, and was elated to bite into an actually DELICIOUS SCONE!

Speaking of…transitions not being my strong point…but I swear it’ll relate later, one of my best friends moved to Australia. (I would draw a picture but it’s hard and has a lot of nooks and crannies. Actually, my mother always claims that the only thing she can draw is Australia. Must have skipped a generation.) Australia is very very far away and I would still be in mourning if my friend had not given me the sweetest present ever: she offered to cook the same recipe with me via webcam so that we could bake together and eat things together one last time!

Everybody say “AWWWWWWWWWWW.”

Vegan Cornmeal Cherry Scones
Adapted (veganified!) from the Cheese Board Collective. These have a lovely sandy texture, and are not too sweet so they don’t taste like dessert in the morning. They have little puffed up red dots of tart sweetness sprinkled throughout, and they didn’t last long enough for me to take a real picture of them. Isn’t that proof enough?

Ingredients
– 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
-1/2 teaspoon baking soda
– 1 tablespoon baking powder
– 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
– 3/4 cups packed brown sugar
– 1 1/2 cups cornmeal
– 1 cup cold Earth Balance
– 3/4 cup dried cherries
– 1 1/4 cups soymilk + 1 tablespoon white vinegar

1. Make vegan “buttermilk” by combining the soymilk with the vinegar in a medium cup. If you’re lucky, it’ll curdle almost immediately! If you’re unlucky, you’ll have to wait five minutes.
2. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, brown sugar, and cornmeal. Rub in the cold Earth Balance with your hands until only small lumps remain.
3. Add in the cherries and vegan buttermilk, and mix until just combined.
4. Spoon large dollopfuls onto an oiled sheet pan and bake for 20 minutes in a 425 degree F oven. Spread them out pretty far because they like to hold hands! Mine turned into one GIANT SCONE.

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Cornmeal Cherry Scones

  • Wish says:

    I am grateful to know first hand what some of the delectable treats that Ms. W crafts are like to place on one’s palate. These were very warming, comfortable and yet slightly risque with the cherries…. almost like the the feeling of being at home mixed with a slight bit of extravagance and naughtiness. I recommend.

  • Csilla says:

    cheeseboard makes the best sconces ever!! but these were a close second

  • […] celebrating and sharing my excitement and spreading the vegan love, because one of my best friends Hannah decided to try the 30 day trial period veganism! I’m not out to stake and set fire to those […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cornmeal Cherry Scones at Thursdays with Wanda.

meta

