Fast Food…Made Healthy!

June 24, 2010 § 3 Comments

Scene 1: (Setting: during finals week, on the phone with my mom.)

Mom: Hi Wanda.
Wanda: Hello Mom.
Mom: What did you eat for dinner tonight? (Is that just my family or is that the second question every parent asks their kid in college?)
Wanda: Ummm…a chocolate bar and cereal…and coffee?
Mom: Emanates disappointment through the phone.

Coffee, Chocolate, & Cereal: A College Girl's 3 Food Groups

Does this sound familiar to anyone? You try so hard to be healthy and try so hard to be good to your body, but then eeevvvvillllll demons named STRESS! and WORK! edge their way into your life and all that looks good in your house to eat is a stack of Oreos with that last box of raisins that expired yesterday. I’m not judging you.

Really I’m not. Click below for me continuing to not judge.

It’s just that I know after I scarf those things down with the last ounce of strength I have, I manage to feel worse than when I started. The Oreo filling roils in my stomach and then the coffee gurgles and then you just feel so shitty that you can’t even work on what you were trying to stay nourished for.

So trust me, the next time you’re malnourished/hungover/stressed out, hold on for the next ten minutes, just enough time for you to cook this delicious, savory, and vitamin packed meal. I promise you’ll feel much better than that box of cookies will make you feel, even if it is calling to you right now.

Box of cookies: “heeeelloooo. eat me.”

Warm Kale & Asparagus Salad
serves 1 | ready in: 10 minutes

Ingredients
– 1 tsp olive oil
– 4 cloves garlic, chopped
– 1/2 bunch of kale, chopped with stems discarded (the stems are gnarly and no good to eat
– 4 sticks of asparagus
– 1/4 red onion, sliced
– 1 teensy tiny tomato, chopped
– 1 green onion stalk, sliced
– 1 tablespoon fish sauce (I suggest Three Crabs brand.)
– 1 tablespoon soy sauce

1. Over high heat add oil to a large wok/pan. Add the onions & garlic, stir fry for about 2 minutes, then add the kale, stirring until softened, or about 2 more minutes. Add the rest of the ingredients, stir frying for 2 more minutes and checking for taste. Add more soy or fish sauce if not salty enough. If it’s too salty, you’re screwed. Sucker.

2. That’s it. I swear it’s that easy. Oh…well I ate it with a fried egg and brown rice too. More on how to fry perfect eggs in next Thursday’s lecture!

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Fast Food…Made Healthy!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fast Food…Made Healthy! at Thursdays with Wanda.

meta

