Lemon Tart

July 14, 2011 § 8 Comments

Nothing says summer like blue skies and white clouds and orange-ish melanogenesis. Except that Berkeley’s July summer has dutifully decided to be grey and moody and dank. As I write this, I think a droplet of rain just splashed on my window just to further peeve me. I like grey as much as the next person – it’ my favorite color – but damnit! I want summer! I want to wear a dress and prance around in a bathing suit and eat blackberries off of mixed up brambles until my teeth are stained and my fingers are cut and then bring the rest of them home to make a pie for my loved ones.

So fuck you, grey summer, I’m going to make my own sunshine; I’m going to make sunshiney lemon yellow tart and pretend it’s a good summer. Some advice for you, I also tried pretending it was summer by wearing a dress even though it was cold, but I just shivered a lot. This lemon tart is the best option for you if your summer is late to come to the party!

Anyways, let’s talk about the food, which you’re probably here for. Since one of my best friends decided to try out veganism for a spell (HARRY POTTER IS COMING OUT!), I decided to cook a dinner that definitively proved that vegan food tasted great (to three carnivores and four vegans and one freegan). I made some “chicken” carbonara, ratatouille, and some “sausage, cheese”, and pluot stuffed endives, but ran out of time to make a lemon tart that night. I wanted to rhapsodize about lemon tart right then and there, but apparently it’s rude to talk to your dinner guests about a delicious dessert that you won’t ever give to them.

So I’ll talk about it here, where it’s probably only rude to talk about it I don’t give you the recipe, but I will because I disdain rudeness.  Unlike other recipes for vegan lemon tart, it doesn’t use a silken tofu filling, so it doesn’t have a funky aftertaste.  It’s tart and sweet with a coconut cream cloud for balance and…you know what? It’s perfect. I’m biased. So what? It’s still perfect.

PS. Think the photos today are swanky? That’s because they were taken by a professional photographer! Apparently we have a somewhat symbiotic relationship; she gets dessert and I get sexy food photography on my blog.

PUG! pugpugpugpugpug.

Lemon Trollop
A vegan lemon tart so sinfully delicious, so provocative, so guilt-evoking, you’ll swear you just purchased the classiest hooker ever! 

Shortbread Crust
– 1/2 cup Earth Balance
– 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
– 2 tablespoons sugar
– a pinch of salt

1. Melt the Earth Balance. (Nuke it, put it in a pot, have a fat man sit on it…)
2. Mix the melted Earth Balance with the flour, sugar, and salt until everything forms a large golden lump.
3. Press into your 8″ fluted tart pan. If you don’t have a tart pan, press it into a pie tin. If you don’t have a pie tin, press it into a casserole dish. If you don’t have any of the above, make a janky pie tin using foil.
4. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20-24 minutes or until dark golden brown on the outside and a pale lion color on the inside.

Lemon Filling
– 1 tablespoon agar agar flakes
– 3/4 cup water
– 5 lemons
– 1/3 cup sugar
– a pinch of salt
– 1 tsp guar gum
– 1 tsp soy lecithin
– 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted

1.  Mix the agar agar with the water and let stand until softened, or about 15 minutes. Bring to a boil, then turn the heat down and let simmer until it is mostly dissolved, or when most of the flakes have gone into solution and the mixture looks cloudy.
2. Meanwhile, zest and juice your lemons.
3. Blend together the agar solution, lemon juice, lemon zest, and salt until no lumps of stubborn agar remain.
4. Add in the guar gum, soy lecithin, and melted coconut oil and blend again. It should be slightly thickened from the guar gum and taste like heaven.
5. Pour into your baked tart shell and place in the fridge for about 1 hour to set up.

Coconut Cream
– 1 can of high fat coconut milk
– 1 tablespoon agar agar flakes
– 2 tablespoons water
– 1 tsp guar gum
– 3 tablespoons sugar

1. You need a can of HIGH FAT content coconut milk for this to work as whipped cream. If you don’t have a very high fat content, place your can of coconut milk into the fridge for about 3 hours beforehand.
2. Carefully open you coconut milk and scoop off the white cream layer. You won’t need the clear liquid layer for this recipe.
3. Dissolve your agar in your water for 15 minutes, then simmer it to dissolve completely.
4. Blend the coconut cream with the agar, guar gum, and the sugar.
5. Place this mixture in the fridge for at least two hours. It will set up a bit like jello.
6. With your hand mixer, whir the gelled mixture until you get medium peaks. Pipe it onto your lemon tart!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Lemon Tart

  • Chrysta says:

    Amazing, and yes, PERFECT! I can attest.
    Also those photos are PERFECT (I am biased).

    Hooray for symbiotic relationships :)

  • Toma says:

    That pug he doesn’t like me and it looks like he’s going to get some tart I want some tart. :c

  • Emm says:

    The cream is so perfect and swirly!!

    Also, how pugs are made:
    http://www.funnypictures.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/The-Pug-Factory.jpg

  • Dan says:

    Haha I didn’t realize you started updating your blog again. I guess I’ve been missing my weekly dosage of Wanda. Thanks for bringing another smile to my face and I’m looking forward to reading your posts, both old and new :D

  • Wish says:

    omg this was soooo good!

  • [...] recipe today, because they’re just rice balls and a lemon tart recipe that I posted before and cut-up oranges. Also, I have to end this post short because someone [...]

  • Jenn says:

    This tart looks gorgeous! A few quick questions for you (since I just made the tart): 1) I found I had to add about 3 times the amount of sugar for the lemons I used, so did you have a specific volume of lemon juice in mind when making your tart? 2) When in your process did you add the sugar when making the lemon curd? Just curious.

    P.S. the tart I made looks pretty damn good – I can’t wait for it to come out of the fridge. : )

    • Thursdays With Wanda says:

      hmm, that’s interesting that you had to add so much sugar! I’ll have to test it more carefully the next time I make this tart. My lemons were rather small (I stole them from a neighbor’s tree), and I like my lemon tarts very tart! I added the sugar with agar solution and the lemon juice step.

      Anyways, I hope that that recipe still worked out for you. I’ll keep you posted about a more accurate recipe when I make it next.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lemon Tart at Thursdays with Wanda.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

